FCHD logo

Football Association Challenge Vase

F.A. Vase logo


The FA Vase was insituted in 1974 when the Football Association abolished the distinction between professional and amateur status, effectively replacing the FA Amateur Cup. Some of the more senior clubs who previously competed in the Amateur Cup, for example those from the Isthmian and Northern Leagues switched instead to the FA Trophy, leaving the Vase for clubs from a variety of regional and local leagues.

The first winners were Hoddesdon Town of the Spartan League, but it was not long before the first Vase "dynasty" appeared - Billericay Town of the Essex Senior League who won the competition three times in four seasons. This remained unequalled until 2010 when Whitley Bay won their third Vase and then won their fourth (and third in succession) a year later. Halesowen Town, Brigg Town and Tiverton Town are dual winners. A F C Sudbury have an impressive but unfortunate record of being losing finalists three years running.

Full results/draws of this seasons competition

F.A. Vase Winners and Runner-up, 1974 to date

Season Winner Runner-up Result In FCHD
1974-75 Hoddesdon Town Epsom & Ewell 2-1 All
1975-76 Billericay Town Stamford 1-0 All
1976-77 Billericay Town Sheffield 1-1, 2-1 All
1977-78 Blue Star Barton Rovers 2-1 All
1978-79 Billericay Town Almondsbury Greenway 4-1 All
1979-80 Stamford Guisborough Town 2-0 All
1980-81 Whickham Willenhall Town 3-2 All
1981-82 Forest Green Rovers Rainworth Miners Welfare 3-0 All
1982-83 VS Rugby Halesowen Town 1-0 All
1983-84 Stansted Stamford 2-0 All
1984-85 Halesowen Town Fleetwood Town 3-1 All
1985-86 Halesowen Town Southall 3-0 All
1986-87 St Helens Town Warrington Town 3-2 All
1987-88 Colne Dynamoes Emley 1-0 All
1988-89 Tamworth Sudbury Town 1-1, 3-0 All
1989-90 Yeading Bridlington Town 0-0, 1-0 All
1990-91 Guiseley Gresley Rovers 4-4, 3-1 All
1991-92 Wimborne Town Guiseley 5-3 All
1992-93 Bridlington Town Tiverton Town 1-0 All
1993-94 Diss Town Taunton Town 2-1 All
1994-95 Arlesey Town Oxford City 2-1 All
1995-96 Brigg Town Clitheroe 3-0 All
1996-97 Whitby Town North Ferriby United 3-0 All
1997-98 Tiverton Town Tow Law Town 1-0 All
1998-99 Tiverton Town Bedlington Terriers 1-0 All
1999-00 Deal Town Chippenham Town 1-0 All
2000-01 Taunton Town Berkhamsted Town 2-1 All
2001-02 Whitley Bay Tiptree United 1-0 All
2002-03 Brigg Town A F C Sudbury 2-1 All
2003-04 Winchester City A F C Sudbury 2-0 All
2004-05 Didcot Town A F C Sudbury 3-2 All
2005-06 Nantwich Town Hillingdon Borough 3-1 All
2006-07 Truro City A F C Totton 3-1 All
2007-08 Kirkham & Wesham Lowestoft Town 2-1 All
2008-09 Whitley Bay Glossop North End 2-0 All
2009-10 Whitley Bay Wroxham 6-1 All
2010-11 Whitley Bay Coalville Town 3-2 All
2011-12 Dunston U T S West Auckland Town 2-0 All
2012-13 Spennmoor Town Tunbridge Wells 2-1 All
2013-14 Sholing West Auckland Town 1-0 All
2014-15 North Shields Glossop North End 2-1 All

Summary of winners


Clubs who have played in all Vase competitions

Brockenhurst, Calne Town, Chadderton, Hoddesdon Town, Holbeach United, Ringmer, Saffron Walden Town, Stansted, Stotfold, Tunbridge Wells, Westbury United

Return to Cups overview page

Please credit the F.C.H.D. when using this information elsewhere