FCHD logo

Anglo-Italian Cup

FCHD logo

Introduction and Format

An Anglo-Italian tournament has existed in a number of forms over the last forty years, first created for amateur clubs in 1967 and a second competition for professional clubs two years later, after Swindon Town had won the Football League club but were ineligible for the UEFA Cup as they were not a first division side.


The most recent version was competed for over four seasons, from 1992-1996 with teams from the Football League Division One, and the Italian Serie B. All finals were held at Wembley Stadium, always between an English side and an Italian one. The Italian sides came out winners 3 times out of the 4. With poor support, the competition was abandoned in 1996.


Anglo-Italian Cup Winners and Runner-up, 1992 to 1996

Season Winner Runner-up Result
1992-93 Cremonese Derby County 3-1
1993-94 Brescia Notts County 1-0
1994-95 Notts County Ascoli 2-1
1995-96 Genoa Port Vale 5-2

Summary of winners

Return to Cups overview page