FCHD logo

Texaco Cup

Texaco logo

The Texaco Cup was a pre-season invitation competition for clubs not involved in European Competitions. In the first two seasons, clubs from England, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Republic of Ireland competed, but for the last three tournaments the entry list was confined to England and Scotland.

The club was won on all five occasions by English clubs.

In 1975, the Texaco Cup was replaced by the Anglo Scottish Cup.


Texaco Cup Winners and Runner-up, 1970 to 1975

Season Winner Runner-up Result In FCHD
1970-71 Wolverhampton Wanderers Heart Of Midlothian 3-2 (agg.) None
1971-72 Derby County Airdrieonians 2-1 (agg.) None
1972-73 Ipswich Town Norwich City 4-2 (agg.) None
1973-74 Newcastle United Burnley 2-1 None
1974-75 Newcastle United Southampton 3-1 (agg.) None

Summary of winners

2. Newcastle United

1. Derby County, Ipswich Town, Wolverhampton Wanderers


Return to Cups overview page