FCHD logo

Anglo-Scottish Cup

FCHD logo

Replacing the Texaco Cup, the Anglo Scottish Cup ran for six seasons, the early stages being held as a pre-season competition. Seperate competitions were held either side of the border to produce four clubs each, which then went into a knock-out competition, ties (including the final) played over two home-and-away legs. With the drop-away in interest, Scottish clubs ceased to participate from 1981, and the competition was re-born as the Football League Group Cup

Anglo Scottish Cup Winners and Runner-up, 1975 to 1981

Season Winner Runner-up Result In FCHD
1975-76 Middlesbrough Fulham 1-0 All
1976-77 Nottingham Forest Orient 5-1 All
1977-78 Bristol City St Mirren 3-2 All
1978-79 Burnley Oldham Athletic 4-1 All
1979-80 St Mirren Bristol City 5-1 None
1980-81 Chesterfield Notts County 2-1 None

Summary of winners

1. Bristol City, Burnley, Chesterfield, Middlesbrough, Nottingham Forest, St Mirren


Return to Cups overview page