FCHD logo

1978-79 Season Summary

FCHD logo

This page is the index to all the league competitions for the 1978-79 season that are featured in the FCHD.


Changes for the 1978-79 season


League Winners

Athenian League Billericay Town
Central League Liverpool reserves *
Cheshire County League Division One - Horwich R M I
Division Two - Bootle
Cornwall Combination Porthleven
Dorset Combination Poole Town reserves *
Eastern Counties League Haverhill Rovers
Essex Olympian League Rayleigh
Essex Senior League Basildon United
Football League Division One - Liverpool
Division Two - Crystal Palace
Division Three - Shrewsbury Town
Division Four - Reading
Gloucestershire County League Almondsbury Greenway
Guernsey Priaulx League St Martins
Hampshire League Division One - Newport IOW
Division Two - Romsey Town
Division Three - Pegasus
Division Four - AFC Totton reserves
Hellenic League Premier Division - Newbury Town
Division One - Northwood
Herts County League Premier Division - Cockfosters
Division One - Leverstock Green
Division Two - Leavesden Hospital reserves
Division Three - St Margaretsbury reserves
Home Counties League British Aerospace (Weybridge)
Isthmian League Premier Division - Barking
Division One - Harlow Town
Division Two - Farnborough Town
Kent League Division One - Sheppey United
Lancashire Combination Wren Rovers
Leicestershire Senior League Division One - Shepshed Charterhouse
Division Two - Ibstock Penistone Rovers
London Spartan League Premier Division - Swanley Town
Mid-Cheshire League Division One - Kidsgrove Athletic
Division Two - Lion
Midland Combination Division One - Sutton Coldfield Town
Division Two - Stafford *
Midland League Premier Division - Boston
Division One - Long Eaton Grange
Northern Alliance Brandon United
Northern League Spennymoor United
Northern Premier League Mossley
Scottish League Premier Division - Celtic
Division One - Dundee
Division Two - Berwick Rangers
South Midlands League Premier Division - Barton Rovers
Division One - British Aircraft Corporation (Stevenage)
South Western League Liskeard Athletic
Southern League Premier Division - Worcester City
Division One North - Grantham
Division One South - Dover
Sussex County League Division One - Peacehaven & Telscombe
Division Two - Pagham
United Counties League Premier Division - Irthlingborough Diamonds
Division One - Milton Keynes Borough
Division Two - British Timken Duston
Wearside League Wallsend Town
Welsh League Premier Division - Pontllanfraith
Division One - Maesteg Park Athletic
Division Two - Newport Y M C A
West Midlands (Regional) League Premier Division - Willenhall Town
Division One - Shifnal Town
Division Two - Ludlow Town
Western League Premier Division - Frome Town
Division One - A F C Bournemouth reserves
Yorkshire League Division One - Winterton Rangers
Division Two - Ossett Albion
Division Three - York Railway Institute
* - Indicates not yet fully covered in the F.C.H.D.
<< Previous season  Main Leagues Overview  Next season >>

Please credit the F.C.H.D. when using this information elsewhere