FCHD logo

Football League Trophy

FCHD logo
The Football League Trophy (formerly the Football League Associate Members Cup) is competed for by clubs from Football Leagues One and Two, and formerly also included a number of invited sides from the Football Conference.

Effectively, two parallel competitions (North and South) are run, with the two regional winners meeting in a national final, usually played at Wembley Stadium.

A season-by-season breakdown of all the results, together with an explanation of how the competition worked each year (there have been several schemes), can be found at http://homepage.ntlworld.com/jeremy.hicks/flt/

Most of the work done in collating Football League Trophy data for use in the FCHD was done by Keith Smith, to whom a huge thank-you is due.


Sponsored Names, 1983 to date


Football League Trophy Winners and Runner-up, 1983 to date

Season Winner Runner-up Result In FCHD
1983-84 A F C Bournemouth Hull City 2-1 All
1984-85 Wigan Athletic Brentford 3-1 All
1985-86 Bristol City Bolton Wanderers 3-0 All
1986-87 Mansfield Town Bristol City 1-1, 5-4 pens All
1987-88 Wolverhampton Wanderers Burnley 3-0 All
1988-89 Bolton Wanderers Torquay United 4-1 All
1989-90 Tranmere Rovers Bristol Rovers 2-1 All
1990-91 Birmingham City Tranmere Rovers 3-2 All
1991-92 Stoke City Stockport County 1-0 All
1992-93 Port Vale Stockport County 2-1 All
1993-94 Swansea City Huddersfield Town 1-1, 3-1 pens All
1994-95 Birmingham City Carlisle United 1-0 All
1995-96 Rotherham United Shrewsbury Town 2-1 All
1996-97 Carlisle United Colchester United 0-0, 4-3 pens All
1997-98 Grimsby Town A F C Bournemouth 2-1 All
1998-99 Wigan Athletic Millwall 1-0 All
1999-00 Stoke City Bristol City 2-1 All
2000-01 Port Vale Brentford 2-1 All
2001-02 Blackpool Cambridge United 4-1 All
2002-03 Bristol City Carlisle United 2-0 All
2003-04 Blackpool Southend United 2-0 All
2004-05 Wrexham Southend United 2-0 All
2005-06 Swansea City Carlisle United 2-1 All
2006-07 Doncaster Rovers Bristol Rovers 3-2 All
2007-08 Milton Keynes Dons Gillingham 2-0 All
2008-09 Luton Town Scunthorpe United 3-2 All
2009-10 Southampton Carlisle United 4-1 All
2010-11 Carlisle United Brentford 1-0 All
2011-12 Chesterfield Swindon Town 2-0 All
2012-13 Crewe Alexandra Southend United 2-0 All
2013-14 Peterborough United Chesterfield 3-1 All
2014-15 Bristol City Walsall 2-0 All
2015-16 Barnsley Oxford United 3-2 All

Summary of winners

Return to Cups overview page

Please credit the F.C.H.D. when using this information elsewhere