FCHD logo

Suffolk & Ipswich League

Suffolk & Ipswich League logo

Formed in 1986 as the Ipswich & District League, the league is now a feeder to the Eastern Counties League and has nine divisions


Divisional Champions

Season Division One Division Two
1896-97 Stowmarket St Matthews
1897-98 Stowmarket West End Excelsiors
1898-99 Woodbridge Old Marys Brantham Athletic
1899-00 Stowmarket St Peters
1900-01 Leiston St Clements Rangers
1901-02 Leiston Leiston reserves
1902-03 Leiston Woodgate Ward Liberal Club
1903-04 28th RGA Landguard Woodbridge Town
1904-05 Orwell Works Westbourne Athletic
1905-06 Orwell Works Westbourne Mills
1906-07 Orwell Works Stoke Athletic
1907-06 Stowmarket St Clements United

Champions from the intervening period to be added later


League adopted current format in ?

Season Senior Division Division One Intermediate A Intermediate B Division Two Division Three Division Four Division Five Division Six
2006-07 Grundisburgh Stonham Aspal Haughley United res Willis res Claydon Saxmundham Sports Stowmarket Stag Trimley Red Devils Albion Mills res
2007-08 Brantham Athletic Woodbridge Athletic Felixstowe United res Achilles res Wickham Market Parkside United Trimley Red Devils Stonham Aspal "A" Woolverstone United res
2008-09 Grundisburgh Old Newton United Grundisburgh res Woodbridge Athletic res Halesworth Town Henley Athletic Great Blakenham Tattingstone United Elmswell res
2009-10 Old Newton United Haugley United Woodbridge Athletic res Saxmundham Sports res Trimley Red Devils Great Blakenham Walsham-le-Willows "A" Albion Mills res Cedars Park
2010-11 Grundisburgh Leiston St Margarets Ipswich Athletic res East Bergholt United res Henley Athletic Bildeston Rangers AFC Brickmakers Westerfield United "A" Sproughton Sports res
2011-12 Woodbridge Athletic Coplestonians Crane Sports res Henley Athletic res AFC Crowley Waterside Cedars Park Cedars Park res Waterside res
2012-13 Ipswich Valley Rangers Westerfield United Crane Sports res Westerfield United res Claydon Aldeburgh Town Adhara Waterside res Elmswell res

The league published a superb history book "Five Score - The SIL Football Book Of The Century" in 1996 which included all the league tables to that date. Since 2004, all the tables are available in mitoo, so there is an 8-season gap where we do not currently have the full final tables.


Other related websites

Return to League Selector

Please acknowledge the F.C.H.D. when using this information elsewhere